top of page

Graduating from Intuos 5, Part 1


Like some of you might have noticed, I've recently graduated from my somewhat old INTUOS 5 to a brand new mobile studio pro 16''.

I've recieved my intuos back in 2013 during holidays so it is safe to say it's been just under 5 years that I've been loyal to this tablet. Of course, before the intuos, I was loyal to my bamboo tablet for about 3 or so years prior. With this in mind, I'd like you to consider I didn't jump right into the big guns. I've slowly went up the ladder using the other pen tablets and just decided I wanted to spoil myself a bit since I now gathered the funds to do so.

I've always dreamed about cintiq tablets since it always seemed like such a level up-. Tools meant for the best of the best. But I don't think I've ever considered it as a 'must' to become good, but instead, I'd consider those pen displays as a luxury pro can consider getting. And I say pros should get it because of it's price: it would be a bit of a waste to buy one if you aren't considering to follow this path professionally or just seriously at all.

Now that point aside, here is a quick review for those who are considering buying a pen display might want to know a bit about it before committing.

It's been less than a week so far and already, something that stands out for a recently graduated like me is the shock this change might have on your body.

Ever since I've drawn digitally, I've been used to facing a parallel monitor while having my tablet set perpendicular to me, though with a pen display, you are now forced to bring your attention to the tablet's screen as you draw and therefore it creates a small tension in the back of my neck/shoulders (even if I'm using a stand). Though this is definetely not a deal breaker in my opinion. On the contrary, it feels more like a wake up call or a healthy reminder to stretch more often while I draw. I've never really gotten in the habit of stretching or taking breaks during a drawing session so I do think of this as a positive thing. (Also, small note, the pain did disapear after a few more days! even without constant stretching~)

Then, another point I'd like to talk about is the screen of this tablet. It is REALLY smooth. Drawing on it doesn't even compare to drawing on paper. It is BETTER than drawing on paper. Plus, the screen is matte so even if the sun hits on it or other strong light sources, the screen display isn't blinded by it. I am using an art glove tho-. This means that my hand doesnt stick to the screen which really helps gliding through it easily.

Talking about the screen- since it takes a big part of the overall tablet's size, it isn't as big as I thought it would be compared to my intuos which is 13". Tho do not take me wrong, I'm actually happy with this size since it isn't too big but far from being too small. The 16" mobile studio pro is just right for me!

And to finish this post, I would like to approach a final point. I AM talking about graduating from a tablet but really, I would like to stress the point that I'm graduating for a mobile studio pro and no other pen displays. Why stressing this? because I once owned a VAIO Tap 11.

I bought it in hopes to replace my intuos though quickly enough I realized it wasn't worth being a pen display. The pen provided was small, uncomfortable, didn't even have an eraser, and the lines were wavy, badly calibrated etc. Not to mention the uncomfortable feeling of drawing on glass with a plastic pen nib, holding a cold metal pen case. The mobile studio pro was created based on the mistakes of it's predecesor: cintiq companion. It made sure to hear out it's defects and arrange them. The calibration is on point, the lines don't wiggle (on the contrary the lines are quite precise!).

This tablet is very user friendly and barely demands any time to warm up to it. And that's amazing considering that even graduating from bamboo to intuos the first time took quite a few weeks to warm up to. I am extremely pleased with this tablet so far but of course, it's just the first few days. I am considering doing another review in a few weeks to see if I notice any major problems surging up, but so far, no real complaints, just a few minor problems. Those problems being me missing an adapter to connect the tablet to my pc or such (which is really easily solved so I doubt should influence your decision) and me not having any keyboards to connect to it (but it doesn't really complicate my life). The keyboard from the touch screen is actually very easy to use and just the right size compared to the total screen size.

Posts à l'affiche
Posts Récents
Archives
Rechercher par Tags
No tags yet.
Retrouvez-nous
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page